Working together to support the whole family

Chicago Child Care Society is a team of teachers, social workers, mentors and credentialed professionals that together, through a variety of innovative programs, build a foundation for the wellbeing of our community. By supporting the whole family, CCCS empowers individuals to achieve success while also creating stronger communities in the neighborhoods we serve. 

2018 Board Officers

Paul Herring_Headshot Color.jpg

Paul Herring, President

Managing Partner

Strategic Planning and Oversight-Grant Thornton LLP


Caragh Deluca, 

Practice Leader, SALT Asset & Wealth Management, Pricewatercoopers

Regina Wooton headshot.jpg

Regina Wootton, Secretary

JB photo.png

Julia Beringer, Treasurer  

Senior Vice President, Senior Relationship Manager-Wells Fargo


2018 Board of Directors

Julia Beringer

Judith S. Block

Herbert C. Blutenthal

James A. Byrd

Sadry Café

Daynor M. Carman

Thomas W. Carr

Caragh DeLuca

Camille El-Amin

Steven L. Gryll

Francia E. Harrington


Robert J. Harris

Meredith Hayes

Paul Herring

Jeffrey Hines

Steven V. Hunter, ESQ.

Richard F. Karger

Andrew Kelly

John G. Levi

Robert Lindstrom

Charles T. Marlas

Jeanne C. Marsh

Dorri McWhorter

Robert K. Parsons

Mary O’Brien Pearlman

Timothy Renz

Nancy Snyder

Elizabeth Sonnenschein

Kevin P. Stineman

andrew Turitz

William E. Wolf

Regina WoottoN


Our Leadership Team

DM Headshot.jpg

Dara T. Munson, MPA Chief Executive Officer

Dara Munson is CEO of Chicago Child Care Society. Her career has focused largely on the needs of children at-risk, fueled by a special passion for issues affecting women and girls. She served as Chief Operating Officer of Girl Scouts of Southeastern Michigan, until January of 2016, launching a customer relationship management platform serving 8,000 volunteers and 23,000 girls. Dara was President and CEO at Big Brothers Big Sisters from 2007 until 2014 after serving in several leadership capacities with the United Way for Southeastern Michigan. Dara currently serves on the Eastern Michigan University Foundation Board of Trustees and the Illinois Department of Child and Family Services Child Day Care Licensing Advisory Council. Civic memberships include Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc., The Links, Incorporated and the International Women’s Forum. Dara received the 2012 Women and Leadership in the Workplace Award from the Michigan Business and Professional Association, and was named one of Diversity MBA Magazine’s 2011 Diverse Executive and Emerging Leaders. Dara was a 2009 honoree of Crain’s Detroit Business 40 Under 40. She holds a Bachelor’s degree in Criminal Justice from Eastern Michigan University and a Master of Public Administration from Central Michigan University.


Toya Griffin-Aaron, Chief Finance and Operations Officer

Toya Griffin-Aaron began at Chicago Child Care Society 14 years ago as an Accountant, advanced to Director of Finance and Internal Compliance and she now serves as the Chief Finance and Operations Officer. Toya provides oversight of all non-program departments outside of development including fiscal, facilities, human resources and information technology. Toya received a Bachelor of Science in accounting and has a Master of Arts in accounting and financial management. She is a certified nonprofit accounting professional (CNAP) through The Fiscal Management Associates Institute. Toya is pursuing a certificate from The University of Michigan Ross School of Business as a Distinguished Leader, in which she completed the Emerging Leaders and Management of Managers programs. Civic memberships include Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., in which she currently serves as Co-Chair of Political Awareness and Involvement through the Joliet Area South Suburban Alumnae Chapter.  She also served as former member of the Child Care Association of Illinois Policy Committee and was a previous member of the United Way of Metropolitan Chicago's Young Leaders Society.

Deb head shot.jpg

Deb Schlies, Chief Development Officer

Deb is the Chief Development Officer at CCCS. She oversees strategies and communications with all donor segments, working collaboratively with the Leadership Team to identify and fund program priorities. Deb’s early career was with academic teaching hospitals, University of Wisconsin research and clinical service for children with multiple disabilities, and University of Miami gynecologic oncology surgical and treatment center. In Chicago, her longest tenure was 14 years at The Chicago Lighthouse and then served as a senior officer at The Cradle Foundation in support of adoption services. Her personal passion is serving working families with young children to have excellent early childhood education and supports that strengthen the whole family.

la june

La June Davis-Wiley, SPHR, SHRM-SCP, Chief People Officer

La June is an accomplished Human Resources professional with over twenty years in the industry. She is a senior-level Human Resources Executive who appreciates the importance and significance of the employment function in supporting strategic and operational needs of an organization. She is experienced in sourcing, selection, internal staffing, coaching, counseling, employee relations and employee benefits. She is self-directed, resourceful and results-driven with excellent business and decision-making skills. She has a proven record of accomplishments in achieving cost-effective solutions for current and long-term talent needs. LaJune received the 2018 Lead award of Excellence as a Top Corporate Leader.

She holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in Marketing Communications from Columbia College Chicago and a Master of Arts degree in Organizational Effectiveness from DePaul University.

LaJune is a member of the Society for Human Resource Management, Chicago Association and Not-for-Profit HR Roundtable, South Suburban Cook Human Resources Association (SSCHRA), Top Ladies of Distinction, SSCC, founding member (President) Toastmaster International, (UCHAT) and a member of Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc., where she currently serves on the National Strategic Planning committee and a member of the Aurora Magazine reporting and interviewing team.